Q: What is the Massachusetts Covid-19 Travel Order?
A: Effective August 1, 2020, all visitors and returning residents entering Massachusetts must follow new travel orders. The Commonwealth has made great progress to slow the spread of COVID-19 and gradually re-open the economy, and all visitors have a responsibility to help us keep transmission levels as low as possible.
All visitors entering Massachusetts, including returning residents, who do not meet an exemption, are required to:
If your COVID-19 test result has not been received prior to arrival, visitors, and residents must quarantine until they receive a negative test result.
Failure to comply may result in a $500 fine per day.
Q: Are there exemptions to the travel form?
A: Yes, here is a list of persons not required to quarantine upon entering Massachusetts
Q: Which states are considered low risk?
A: Here is a list of states are are considered low risk.
Q: What is the limit on the number of people in gathering?
A: The new gatherings order reduces the gathering size limit for gatherings at private residences: indoor gatherings at private residences are limited to 10 people and outdoor gatherings at private residences are limited to 25 people. The limit on gatherings held in public spaces and at event venues (e.g. wedding venues) remains the same.
Q: Should I wear a mask when I go out in public?
A: The revised order requires all persons to wear face-coverings in all public places, even where they are able to maintain 6 feet of distance from others. The revised order still allows for an exception for residents who cannot wear a face-covering due to a medical or disabling condition, but it allows employers to require employees to provide proof of such a condition. It also allows schools to require that students participating in in-person learning provide proof of such a medical or disabling condition.
Learn more about wearing face coverings and cloth masks in public, including fact sheets in multiple languages.
Q: Is there a list of places where I can get tested for COVID-19 if I think I have symptoms?
A: Yes. If you think you may have symptoms, first call your health care provider. If your clinician thinks you should be tested but they are unable to offer a test at their own health care facility, they will provide a referral and you can be tested at test site near you. An appointment is necessary. View the current list: MA COVID-19 Testing Sites | Doc.
For more information on travelling to Massachusetts visit these helpful links.
Last updated 1-22-21